Governance and Staff

Paul Baines

Chair and Independent Trustee


Paul Baines was a partner of share brokers and investment bankers Jarden & Co and an executive of Credit Suisse First Boston NZ (now First NZ Capital) for over 20 years until the early 1990s. He held leadership positions in research and investment banking and was CEO from 1987 to 1993.

Over the past 25 years Paul has held a range of governance positions. He is currently a Director of The Todd Corporation, and is on the Board of Chamber Music New Zealand Foundation and New Zealand Institute of Economic Research. He is Chair of the Gillies McIndoe Foundation and the Gillies McIndoe Research Institute.

Previous governance roles include board membership of Barnardos (Chair), Comalco NZ, Databank, EDS NZ, Enterprise NZ Trust (Chair), Fletcher Building, Fletcher Challenge, Gough Gough and Hamer, New Zealand Post, Reserve Bank of New Zealand, Telecom, Tower Funds Management (Chair), Wrightson, and Queen Margaret College.

Paul has a BCA, MPP, FCA, FInstD, CSAP, In 2013, he received an Honorary Doctor of Commerce degree from Victoria University of Wellington.

Tony Shaw

Independent Trustee


Tony has been involved in the disability sector for over 30 years. For many years he was a committee member and Chair of the Timaru branch of IHC. He then served on various national committees and was an inaugural member of the IHC Board of Governance. He was a New Zealand Vice President for four years and then served three years as President of IHC New Zealand Inc. For a period he chaired the Donald Beasley Institute.

Tony is the managing partner of the Timaru law firm Timpany Walton. He has considerable experience in litigation but in recent years has increasingly focused on commercial work and commercial dispute resolution. He also works in the areas of employment law and complex relationship property disputes. He has served on the Canterbury District Law Society.

Tony is a director of New Zealand’s largest privately owned passenger transport business. He is currently Chair of the South Island Masters Games.

Tony is married with three children.

Bevan Wallace

Independent Trustee

Bevan Wallace.jpg

Bevan Wallace is Executive Director of Morgan Wallace, business strategists.

His career spans investment banking, stockbroking, funds management and financial consultancy.

He is a Fellow of the Institute of Financial Professionals, New Zealand (Inc), a Chartered member of the Institute of Directors and a member of the Law and Economics Association of New Zealand (Inc.).

Bevan is Chairman of Efficient Market Services Limited, the operator of USX, the Unlisted Securities Exchange.  He is a former Chartered Accountant and was a Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee of Blis Technologies Limited.

Bevan holds a Master of Commerce with First Class Honours in Economics and Accountancy (University of Canterbury), 1981.

Neil Taylor

IHC-appointed Trustee


Neil is the Chair of IHC New Zealand and a director of the Accessible Properties Board. He has been involved with IHC for many years including as a Vice President and as President of the South Taranaki Association. He is a Chartered Accountant and Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand. Neil has held a number of other governance roles and is an IHC New Zealand Life Member.

Jan Dowland

Executive Director


Jan Dowland has worked in the health and disability sector for more than 40 years in research, policy, management and consultancy roles. She was Chief Executive of IHC NZ Inc for four years following four years as General Manager of the Central Region.

Jan has had a number of government appointments. She was appointed Chair of the Mental Health Commission in 2002 and in 2005 was appointed as a panel member to the Confidential Forum for Former Inpatients of Psychiatric Hospitals. Jan is a Trustee of the Wellington Community Trust.

She remains involved with the intellectual disability and mental health sectors through both her paid and voluntary work.